About us

Grenzen überwinden

The cold war was yesterday! - Today: A Europe of Openness

Mirroring global changes, the work of the IBB itself has developed. In 1986 we started our work for peace and reconciliation with a focus on Eastern Europe, that is during a crucial phase of the Cold War. Already in 1991, the building of the Centre for Education and Exchange Minsk commenced. In the meantime, some boundaries, like the Berlin Wall, came down, but others were just building up.

The ideological differences between East and West are not important anymore. But a dialogue between cultures and value systems is still needed – within and beyond Europe.

Economic and political systems are in motion, in part at dazzling speeds. We have to develop new perspectives of cooperation while keeping in mind that we all share just one world. In contrast to statements of dissociation, the IBB stands for exchange and encounters.

Globalisation calls for cooperation at eye level, at work as well as in civil society. This is what we work for when organising programmes with our partners in countries within and outside Europe.

Cooperation! - What else?

Think globally, act locally: Especially networks crossing borders give us impulses for our future work. Together we analyse how to develop new perspectives for a sustainable future.

The nuclear accident at Chernobyl was a watershed event, as it was not seen as a national, but as a European catastrophe. The necessity of multilateral cooperation was brought into people‘s consciousness.

Again and again, we connect people pursuing similar ideas. Already in 1992 the first partnership conference of German-Belarusian initiatives took place, since then we support cooperative engagement and networking on an international level.

The IBB facilitates and supports the cooperation of socially involved actors across national borders. The insight that processes in civil society enable cultural understanding and convergence in the first place is the basis for this approach.

Yesterday. Today. Tomorrow.

As long as there are boundaries, between countries, cultures, age groups, as long as there are still boundaries within the heads of people – there is still work for us to do.

International education and exchange are our contribution towards a culture of tolerance and mutual understanding. Intercultural education furthers the dialogue between denominations and religions, between rich and poor.

Those who want to create a sustainable future, have to be ready for change today. The IBB understands itself as part of a European civil society, which strives for changes within their countries as well as transcending borders. In doing this, conflicts will always occur. We stand for dialogue and understanding, for non-violent strategies for societal change.

The former President of Germany Johannes Rau accompanied the work of IBB from the beginning. We understand his words as a legacy for our work in education and encounters:

“Without a knowledge of our past we can not create a human future. Without a willingness to depart and to change we do not take seriously our current existence.”

We continue to act in the European networks that have grown between East and West, between NGOs, religions, the economy and politics, for a strong civil society and a human future.

IBB - brief and concise

The IBB is a charitable, registered association. It is represented by its executive board, who also form the general meeting of the IBB gGmbH.

Chairman: Matthias C. Tümpel
Representative: Rainer Schlief
Treasurer: Joachim Sauer

The executive board is elected at the meeting of members of the IBB Association. The members are closely linked to the work of the IBB and participate actively in projects, which are realised by the IBB.

Furthermore, the IBB is counselled and supported by its trustees from the field of politics and society. The members of the board of trustees can be found here.

The IBB Association is:

  • an accredited responsible body for youth and child weleE_logo_webfare,
  • an accredited responsible body for adult education and political education within the Association of the Protestant Lay Training Centre Westphalia and Lippe
  • it was certified in 2007 according to the seal of quality of the Gütesiegel Weiterbildung 2015Protestant Lay Training Centre Westphalia and Lippe

The IBB Association is a member of:

  • Aktionsgemeinschaft Dienste für den Frieden (“Action Group for Peace”)
  • Aktion Sühnezeichen Friedensdienste (“Action Reconciliation – Service for Peace”)
  • Arbeitsgemeinschaft deutscher Bildungsstätten (“Association of German Educational Organizations (AdB)“)

The IBB Association
Management: Elke Wegener

The IBB is institutionally and politically independent as well as non-profit and makes no commercial profit. Its central task is the conception and realization of seminars, specialist trainings and projects for adolescents and adults in Germany and internationally.

IBB gGmbH (comparable to the legal entity Non-profit limited company)
Management: Peter Junge-Wentrup

The IBB gGmbH is the owner of the IBB ”Johannes Rau“ Minsk together with Belorussian partners. It was founded in 1990 for working in East Europe. Central projects are the support programme Belarus, the history workshop Minsk, the history workshop Charkiw (Ukraine) and the European action weeks.

IBB Representation Berlin
Management: Dr. Astrid Sahm

The IBB Representation Berlin is located in the Foundation for Science and Politics. It supports projects of the IBB and takes part in political and societal dialogue processes about Belarus and the Ukraine in Berlin.

IBB “Johannes Rau“ Minsk AG (public limited company)
Directors: Sabrina Bobowski, Viktor Balakirev

The IBB “Johannes Rau“ in Minsk is a German-Belorussian joint venture. As a result 50% are financed through the IBB gGmbH and the other 50% from the Belorussian partners: the city of Minsk, Bank of Belarus and Sputnik Belarus. The fundamental idea of the fair collaboration shows in the German-Belorussian dual leadership.

History Workshop Leonid Lewin Minsk
Management: Viktor Balakirev

The History Workshop Minsk is a project of the IBB Dortmund, the IBB Minsk and the Association for Jewish organisations and communities in Belarus. It is a meeting place for contemporary witnesses, a place for exchange with adolescents and a research centre for ”uncharted areas“ of German-Belorussian history.

History Workshop Chernobyl
Management: Ljubov Negatina

The History Workshop Chernobyl is a meeting place for liquidators and a learning place for adolescents about the the history of Chernobyl. The Project is supported by the IBB Dortmund and the Association of liquidators Ukraine.

Publications

Read again

Here you can find all books, brochures and documentations about IBB’s different fields of work and topics for download. You can also order print versions.

Our motto since 1986

Overcome boundaries

In our work, we want to overcome boundaries; international education and exchange are our means to this end. In the years since IBB e.V. was founded in 1986, we achieved a lot on our journey. Follow us on a short trip through the history of IBB.

Our trustees

Our trustees from politics and society advise us and support us in our work. You can find the members of the board of trustees with just one more click.

Wir über Uns

Grenzen überwinden

Kalter Krieg war gestern - Heute: ein offenes Europa

Mit den globalen Veränderungen hat sich auch die Arbeit des IBB entwickelt. 1986 begannen wir mit Friedens- und Versöhnungsarbeit in Richtung Osteuropa – also in einer entscheidenden Phase des Kalten Krieges. Schon 1991 startete der Bau unserer Bildungsstätte in Minsk. Inzwischen sind einige Grenzen – wie etwa die Mauer – gefallen. Dafür bauen sich andere auf.
Die ideologischen Gegensätze zwischen Ost und West sind heute nicht mehr entscheidend. Noch immer gefordert ist jedoch ein Dialog zwischen den Kulturen und Wertesystemen – in und über Europa hinaus.
Wirtschaftliche und politische Systeme sind in Bewegung – zum Teil in rasantem Tempo. Es gilt, neue Perspektiven der Kooperation zu entwickeln und dabei im Blick zu behalten, dass uns nur eine Welt zur Verfügung steht. Hier setzt das IBB statt auf Statements der Abgrenzung auf Austausch und Begegnung.
Die Globalisierung verlangt von uns ein Miteinander auf Augenhöhe, im Berufsleben wie in der Zivilgesellschaft. Daran arbeiten wir als Programmanbieter mit unseren Partnern in europäischen und außereuropäischen Ländern.

Kooperation! - Was sonst

Gerade die grenzüberschreitende Vernetzung gibt Impulse für zukünftige Arbeit. Aus der gemeinsamen Analyse werden neue Perspektiven für eine nachhaltige Zukunft entwickelt.

Einen großen Einschnitt bildete die Reaktorkatastrophe von Tschernobyl, da sie nicht als nationale, sondern europäische Katastrophe erlebt wurde. Die Notwendigkeit einer multilateralen Kooperation rückte ins Bewusstsein der Menschen.

Immer wieder bringen wir Menschen zusammen, die ähnliche Ideen verfolgen. Bereits 1992 fand erstmals die Partnerschaftskonferenz der deutsch-belarussischen Initiativen statt, seitdem fördern wir partnerschaftliches Engagement und Vernetzungsarbeit auf internationaler Basis.

Das IBB unterstützt und fördert die Kooperation von gesellschaftlich Engagierten über Landesgrenzen hinweg. Hinter dieser Vorgehensweise steckt die Erkenntnis, dass es zivilgesellschaftliche Prozesse sind, die das kulturelle Zusammenwachsen erst möglich machen.

Gestern. Heute. Morgen.

Wer Zukunft nachhaltig gestalten will, muss heute zu Veränderungen bereit sein. Das IBB versteht sich als Teil einer europäischen Zivilgesellschaft, die innerhalb ihrer Länder sowie grenzübergreifend Veränderungen anstrebt. Konflikte wird es dabei immer geben. Wir setzen auf Dialog und Verständnis, auf gewaltfreie Strategien für einen gesellschaftlichen Wandel.
Der frühere Bundespräsident Johannes Rau hat die Arbeit des IBB von Beginn an intensiv begleitet. Seine Worte sehen wir als ein Vermächtnis für unsere Bildungs- und Begegnungsarbeit:
„Ohne Kenntnis der eigenen Geschichte kann keine menschliche Zukunft gebaut werden. Ohne Bereitschaft zum Aufbruch und zu Veränderungen nehmen wir unsere Existenz heute nicht ernst.“

Wir engagieren uns weiter in den europäischen Netzwerken, die zwischen Ost und West, zwischen den NGOs, den Religionsgemeinschaften, der Wirtschaft und der Politik gewachsen sind, für eine starke Zivilgesellschaft und eine menschliche Zukunft.

IBB - kurz und knapp

Das IBB ist ein gemeinnütziger, eingetragener Verein. Seine Ziele wurden in der Satzung festgelegt. Er wird vertreten durch seine Vorstandsmitglieder, die ebenfalls die Gesellschafterversammlung der IBB gGmbH bilden.

Vorsitzender: Matthias C. Tümpel
Stellvertreter: Rainer Schlief
Kassenwart: Joachim Sauer

Der Vorstand wird gewählt von der Mitgliederversammlung des IBB e.V. Die Mitglieder sind eng verbunden mit der Arbeit des IBB und beteiligen sich aktiv an den Projekten, die das IBB durchführt.

Darüber hinaus wird das IBB beraten und unterstützt von seinen Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren aus Politik und Gesellschaft.

IBB e.V. ist:

  • ein anerkannter Träger der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe,
  • ein anerkannter Träger der Erwachsenenbildung und
  • eE_logo_webder politischen Bildung im Verbund des Ev. Erwachsenenbildungswerk Westfalen und Lippe e.V.
  • seit 2007 zertifiziert nach dem Gütesiegel Gütesiegel Weiterbildung 2015Weiterbildung Nordrhein-Westfalen im Ev. Erwachsenenbildungswerk Westfalen
    und Lippe e.V.

IBB ist Mitglied bei:

  • Aktionsgemeinschaft Dienste für den Frieden
  • Aktion Sühnezeichen Friedensdienste
  • Arbeitsgemeinschaft deutscher Bildungsstätten

IBB e.V.
Geschäftsführung:
Elke Wegener

Das IBB ist institutionell und politisch unabhängig sowie gemeinnützig und erzielt keinen kommerziellen Gewinn. Zentrale Aufgabe ist die Konzipierung und Umsetzung von Seminaren, Fachkräftetrainings und Projekten für Jugendliche und Erwachsene in Deutschland und international.

IBB gGmbH
Geschäftsführung:
Peter Junge-Wentrup und Dr. Astrid Sahm

Die IBB gGmbH ist zusammen mit belarussischen Partnern Eigentümerin der IBB „Johannes Rau“ Minsk. Sie wurde 1990 für die Arbeit in Osteuropa gegründet. Zentrale Projekte sind das Förderprogramm Belarus, die Geschichtswerkstatt Minsk, die Geschichtswerkstatt Tschernobyl in Charkiw (Ukraine) und die Europäischen Aktionswochen

IBB Repräsentanz Berlin
Leitung: Dr. Astrid Sahm

Die IBB Repräsentanz Berlin befindet sich in der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik. Sie begleitet die Projekte des IBB und ist beteiligt an politischen und gesellschaftlichen Dialogprozessen zu Belarus und der Ukraine in Berlin.

IBB „Johannes Rau“ Minsk AG
Direktoren: Sabrina Bobowski, Viktor Balakirev

Die IBB „Johannes Rau“ in Minsk ist ein deutsch-belarussisches Gemeinschaftsprojekt. Dabei werden 50% von der IBB gGmbH und weitere 50% von den belarussischen Partnern Stadt Minsk, Belarus Bank und Sputnik Belarus getragen. Der Grundgedanke der partnerschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit zeigt sich in der deutsch-belarussischen Doppelspitze.

Geschichtswerkstatt Minsk
Leitung: Viktor Balakirev

Die Geschichtswerkstatt Minsk ist ein Projekt von IBB Dortmund, IBB Minsk und dem Verband der jüdischen Organisationen und Gemeinden in Belarus. Es ist ein Treffpunkt für die Zeitzeugen, ein Dialogort mit Jugendlichen und eine Forschungsstätte zu „weißen Flecken“ der deutsch-belarussischen Geschichte.

Geschichtswerkstatt Tschernobyl
Leitung: Ljubov Negatina

Die Geschichtswerkstatt Tschernobyl ist ein Treffpunkt für die Liquidatoren und ein Lernort für Jugendliche zur Geschichte Tschernobyls. Getragen wird das Projekt vom IBB Dortmund und dem Verband der Liquidatoren in der Ukraine.

Publikationen

Noch mal nachlesen.

Hier finden Sie alle IBB Bücher, Broschüren und Dokumentationen zu verschiedenen Arbeitsgebieten und Themen zum Bestellen oder zum Download.

Unser Motto seit 1986

Grenzen überwinden

Wir wollen mit unserer Arbeit Grenzen überwinden, internationale Bildung und Begegnung sind dabei unsere Mittel. In den Jahren seit der Gründung des IBB e.V. 1986 haben wir viel erreicht auf diesem Weg. Folgen Sie uns auf eine kurze Reise durch die IBB-Geschichte.

Unsere Kuratoren

Unsere Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren aus Politik und Gesellschaft beraten und unterstützen uns in unserer Arbeit. Sie finden die Mitglieder des Kuratoriums einen Klick weiter.